CSTO Secretariat

He informed Valery Semerikov about legislative initiatives to counteract foreign interference in the internal affairs of the Russian Federation

The CSTO Secretary General Stanislav Zas expresses serious disquiet and concern in connection with the resumption of the armed conflict in Nagorno-Karabakh on September 27, this year. In the course of the conflict there were the dead and the injured on both sides, including among the civilian population. . 


The CSTO Secretariat expresses serious concern over the aggravation of the situation on the Armenian-Azerbaijani border that arose on July 12, this year, after an armed conflict between units of the armed forces of the Republic of Armenia and the Republic of Azerbaijan, including the use of heavy armament, which resulted in the dead and the injured. The current situation does not contribute to the normalization of the situation on the border of the two neighboring states, one of which is the Republic of Armenia. The Republic is a member state of the Collective Security Treaty Organization. The situation indicates a violation of the agreements of ceasefire reached at the leadership level of the Republic of Armenia and the Republic of Azerbaijan.


CSTO Secretariat is a permanent working body of the Organization for the implementation of organizational, informational, analytical and consultative support of the activities of the bodies of the Organization.

Governance of the CSTO Secretariat:       

The CSTO Secretary General - Zas Stanislav Vasilievich (biographical information) - Russian Federation

CSTO Deputy Secretary Generals:

Semerikov Valeriy Anatolyevich (biographical information) - Russian Federation

Tsikhanouski Piotr Nikolayevich - (biographical information) - Republic of Belarus

- Sultanov Alymbay Alymbekovich - Kyrgyz Republic

The CSTO Secretariat includes the following main structural units:

1.Manage political cooperation. Head of Department Badalyan Ara Genrikhovich (Republic of Armenia)

2. Managing military security issues. Head of Department Rakhimov Fozil Fozievich (Republic of Tajikistan)

3. Managing counter challenges and threats. Head of Department Kunakbaev Murat Zhankuatovich (Republic of Kazakhstan)

4. Organizational planning management. Head of Department Nikishin Vladimir Ivanovich (Russian Federation)

5. Case management. Head of Department Bulidorov Alexander Petrovich (Russian Federation)

Controls include departments and groups as needed.       

In addition, the Secretariat has units in charge of legal, financial, economic and other issues.             
The number of quota posts in the Secretariat is assigned to the CSTO member states in proportion to their contributions to the budget.             
The appointment of officials for quota posts of the Secretariat is carried out by the Secretary General on a rotational basis every three years, as advised by the CSTO member states.