The Republic of Armenia

The republic of Armenia occupies an area of 29,8 thousand square kilometers, the population on 01 January 2017 is 2.986.100. Yerevan is the capital of Armenia.

According to the Constitution adopted 5 July 1995, the republic of Armenia is a sovereign democratic, social, legal state.

Legislative body of the Republic of Armenia is the National Assembly consisted of 105 deputes. Term of office of the National Assembly is five years.

The Head of State is a President who is elected for a seven-year period. Sarkissian Armen Vardanovich has been the president of the Republic of Armenia since 3 March 2018.

The Prime Minister is a Chief Executive. Pashinian Nikol Vovaevich has been the Prime Minister of the Republic of Armenia since 8 May 2018.

The Republic of Armenia has signed the Collective Security Treaty of 15 May 1992 in Tashkent. It is a member of the Collective Security Treaty Organization created in 2003 on the base and in promoting cooperation within the Collective Security Treaty.

Back to the section

Back to the all news