The Republic of Tajikistan

Territory of the Republic comprises 143,1 thousand square kilometers, the population on 01.01.2003 is 6.463.800. Dushanbe is the capital of Tajikistan.

According to the Constitution adopted 6 November 1994, the Republic of Tajikistan is a sovereign, democratic, legal, secular, unitary state.

The names “Republic of Tajikistan” and “Tajikistan” are equal.

The Majlis-i Oli (Supreme Assembly or Parliament) is the supreme representative and legislative body of the Republic of Tajikistan. It is elected for a five-year period.

In November 1994 in the Republic Municipal President of the Republic of the Tajikistan (the Head of the State and the Head of Executive branch) was elected by direct universal suffrage for a five-year term of office. The President was re-elected, as from 6 November 1999, for a further period of seven years.

The Republic of Tajikistan has signed the Collective Security Treaty of 15 May 1992 in Tashkent. It is a member of the Collective Security Treaty Organization created in 2003 on the base and in promoting cooperation within the Collective Security Treaty.

Emomali Rahmon is the President of the Republic of Tajikistan.

Back to the section

Back to the all news