4f7a1b04-604b-4b73-b8de-96ca6de16e3d.jpgOn July 3, Minsk hosted celebrations dedicated to the Independence Day of the Republic of Belarus, in which the CSTO Secretary General Stanislav Zas took part. On July 2, he attended a solemn meeting dedicated to this holiday with the participation of the President of the Republic of Belarus Alexander Lukashenko. On July 3 he laid flowers at the Victory Monument. 

Also the celebrations were attended by the Chairman of the CIS Executive Committee Sergey Lebedev, the State Secretary of the Union State of the Republic of Belarus and Russia Grigory Rapota and the Chairman of the Board of the Eurasian Economic Commission Mikhail Myasnikovich.. 

The ceremonies were attended by the ambassadors of the CSTO member states.

Stanislav Zas also held talks with the heads of power structures of the Republic of Belarus on issues of interaction in the CSTO format. 

The Independence Day of the Republic of Belarus (the Republic Day) is the main holiday of Belarusian statehood. It is celebrated annually on July 3 in honor of the liberation of the capital of the Republic of Belarus Minsk from Nazi invaders in 1944.

The decision to celebrate the Independence Day on July 3 was made during a republican referendum in 1996.

On the Independence Day, the Days of several Belarusian cities are also celebrated.

The CIS is a form of cooperation of equal independent states, a regional intergovernmental organization recognized by the international community. Its distinctive features are the organization of interaction in virtually all areas of interstate communication, the flexibility of mechanisms and formats for collective cooperation. The flexible mechanism for organizing interstate and intergovernmental relations allows to take into account the different degrees of readiness of countries for integration and provides the opportunity for each of them to participate in integration processes to the extent and in those areas that meet their national interests. 

Cooperation within the Commonwealth is carried out through its statutory bodies: the Council of Heads of State, the Council of Heads of Government, the Council of Foreign Ministers, the Economic Council, the Council of Defense Ministers, the Council of Commanders of the Border Troops, the Inter-Parliamentary Assembly, the Economic Court.

 In accordance with the CIS Charter, the objectives of the Commonwealth are:

  • cooperation in political, economic, environmental, humanitarian, cultural and other fields;

  • comprehensive and balanced economic and social development of member states within the framework of a common economic space, interstate cooperation and integration;

  • ensuring human rights and fundamental freedoms in accordance with generally recognized principles and norms of international law and OSCE documents;

  • cooperation between Member States in ensuring international peace and security, the implementation of effective measures to reduce armaments and military expenditures, the elimination of nuclear and other weapons of mass destruction, and the achievement of general and complete disarmament;

  • assistance to citizens of member states in free communication, contacts and movement in the Commonwealth;

  • mutual legal assistance and cooperation in other areas of legal relations;

peaceful settlement of disputes and conflicts between the states of the Commonwealth.