In an exclusive commentary to Cronos.Asia, the CSTO Secretary General Imangali Tasmagambetov spoke about the progress of the negotiations.


On June 6, 2024, in Almaty, a meeting of the CSTO Committee of Secretaries of Security Council was held under the chairmanship of the Republic of Kazakhstan. During the meeting, the CSTO Secretary General Imangali Tasmagambetov made a report on the situation in the CSTO area of responsibility and measures aimed at neutralizing challenges and threats to the security of Collective Security Treaty Organization member states.

Sputnik Armenia reports that the Armenian Foreign Minister Ararat Mirzoyan said that he had excellent relations with CSTO Secretary General Imangali Tasmagambetov.

The CSTO Council of Foreign Ministers in Dushanbe will discuss the international situation in the Organization's area of responsibility and adopt a number of important political statements


On May 19, 2021, a meeting of the Council of Foreign Ministers of the Collective Security Treaty Organization will take place in Dushanbe. The CSTO Council of Ministers of Foreign Affairs will be held in person under the chairmanship of the Minister of Foreign Affairs of the Republic of Tajikistan Sirojiddin Mukhruddin. The meeting will be attended by the CSTO Secretary General Stanslav Zas.

The Heads of the foreign affairs agencies of the CSTO member states will discuss the state and prospects for the development of the international and regional situation and its impact on the security of the Organization's member states.

As expected, the Council of Foreign Ministers will adopt a number of important political statements regarding the cooperation of the CSTO with international organizations, the extension of the New START Treaty and the 75th anniversary of the judgment of the International Military Tribunal in Nuremberg.

They will also consider the Plan of Consultations on Foreign Policy, Security and Defense for the second half of 2021 - the first half of 2022 and the Action Plan dedicated to the 30th anniversary of the signing of the Collective Security Treaty and the 20th anniversary of the establishment of the CSTO.

Before the start of the meeting, the Foreign Ministers are expected to be received by the Chairman of the CSTO Collective Security Council, President of the Republic of Tajikistan Emomali Rahmon.

The Collective Security Treaty (CST) was signed on May 15, 1992 in Tashkent. On May 14, 2002, at a session in Moscow, the Collective Security Council adopted a decision to transform the mechanisms and structures of cooperation between the CST member states into an international regional organization - the Collective Security Treaty Organization, with an appropriate status. On September 18, 2003, the CSTO Charter entered into force. The Collective Security Treaty Organization includes: the Republic of Armenia, the Republic of Belarus, the Republic of Kazakhstan, the Kyrgyz Republic, the Russian Federation and the Republic of Tajikistan, which chairs the Organization in 2021.


The CSTO Press Secretary Vladimir Zaynetdinov



E-mail: odkb-pressa@gov.ru


Go back

Back to the section

Back to the all news