On May 24, 2022, under the chairmanship of the Minister of Defense of the Republic of Armenia Suren Papikian, a meeting of the Council of Defense Ministers of the Collective Security Treaty Organization was held via videoconferencing.

The defense ministers of the Republic of Belarus (Lieutenant General Viktor Khrenin), of the Republic of Kazakhstan (Colonel General Ruslan Zhaksylykov), of the Kyrgyz Republic (Lieutenant General Baktybek Bekbolotov), of the Russian Federation (Army General Sergey Shoygu), of the Republic of Tajikistan (Colonel General Sherali Mirzo), as well as the CSTO Secretary General Stanislav Zas and the Head of the CSTO Joint Staff - Colonel General Anatoly Sidorov participated in the meeting.

CSTO Parliamentary Assembly elected Vyacheslav Volodin as Chairman for three years - RIA Novosti

Председатель Государственной Думы РФ Вячеслав Володин

© RIA Novosti / Evgeny Biyatov
Go to the photobank
Chairman of the State Duma of the Russian Federation Vyacheslav Volodin. Archive photo

YEREVAN, November 5 - RIA Novosti. State Duma Speaker Vyacheslav Volodin was elected Chairman of the Parliamentary Assembly of the Collective Security Treaty Organization (The CSTO PA) for the next three years. 
Such a decision was made during the plenary meeting of the assembly, which takes place on Tuesday, November 5, at the Ministry of Defense of the Republic of Armenia.

Earlier, the speaker of the parliament of the Kyrgyz Republic (Jogorku Kenesh) Dastanbek Dzhumabekov made a proposal to nominate Volodin for this position during a meeting of the Assembly Council.

Go back

Back to the section

Back to the all news